Can’t Get Enough of Cali.

Just got back from an amazing trip out to California with my brother for his 28th birthday.

Finished finals at 10:30 pm on Thursday, went home, packed, and was at the airport at 5 am.

Flew into Los Angeles and went straight to visit my old co-workers at DreamWorks for some good ol’ Family Feud time. So fun! especially when there are horrid Christmas sweaters involved.

Decking out my Christmas Sweater for Family Feud at DreamWorks.

No words could describe Ricky's Getup.

The Consumer Product's Creative Family "The Griswalds"

After loosing family feud, we kept our heads up and went out for a genuine Mariachi Battle in East LA

Then headed out to Unique LA, an independent design and gift show for handcrafted and vintage items.
http://uniquela.com/
I was a bit overwhelmed but came across the perfect item, something that has great meaning to my life as a designer.

Giant Plastic ⌘Z Wall Hanging

There was so much more sightseeing and great eating on this trip, but I will leave you with one of the best meals I had while driving up the coast to San Francisco. It was at a tiny place that looked like someone’s cottage home called “The Black Cat Bistro.”

If you are ever in Cambria near Hearst Castle, you must have a meal here! The prices are reasonable and the food is mouthwatering.
We started with the Winter Squash Ravioli – vanilla cream, sage brown butter, spiced pecans ($8)

Winter Squash Ravioli - Black Cat Bistro

And then I got one of my favorite dishes.. tuna!
Rare Seared Yellowfin Ahi – Butter braised jasmine rice, ginger wasabi sauce, Vietnamese slaw, peanuts, roasted shiitakes, crispy shallots ($23)

Rare-Seared Yellowfin Ahi at The Black Cat Bistro

Besides the beautiful presentation, I knew I was in for a good main course when I went to cut my tuna with a fork and it glided through like butter. The rest of the dinner went just as smooth. All the way down to the water, which I thought had to be some type of special water, turns out mountain tap water is just amazing!

More of California to come soon!

Leave a Reply

